Technical: 0131 271 3030 Curricular: 0131 271 4900 Seemis: 0131 561 6584 learning.technology@mgfl.net

Family History Society – Useful Links

Primary Links

Ancestry – www.ancestry.co.uk

Deceased Online – www.deceasedonline.com

Find My Past – www.findmypast.co.uk

Family Search – www.familysearch.org

GENUKI – www.genuki.org.uk/big/

Gazeteer for Scotland – www.scottish-places.info

History of Scotland Magazine – www.historyscotland.com

Maps – maps.nls.uk/index.html

Scotland’s People – www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk

 

Scottish Association of Family History Societies

Aberdeen FHS – http://www.anesfhs.org.uk/

Borders FHS – www.bordersfhs.org.uk

Central Scotland FHS – www.cfhs.org.uk

Dumfries & Galloway FHS – www.dgfhs

East Ayrshire FHS – www.eastayrshirefhs.org.uk

Fife FHS – www.fifefhs.org

Glasgow & West of Scotland FHS – www.gwfhs.org.uk

Highland FHS – www.highlandfamilyhistorysociety.org

Lanarkshire FHS – www.lanarkshirefhs.org.uk

Largs and NorthAyrshire FHS – www.largsnafhs.org.uk

Orkney FHS – www.orkneyfhs.co.uk

Lothians FHS – www.lothiansfhs.org

Moray & Nairn FHS – www.morayandnairnfhs.co.uk

North Perthshire FHS – www.npfhg.org

Renfrewshire FHS – www.renfrewshirefhs.co.uk

Shetland FHS – www.shetland-fhs.org.uk

Tay Valley FHS – www.tayvalleyfhs.org.uk

The Scottish Genealogy Society – www.scotsgenealogy.com

Troon & Ayrshire FHS – www.troonayrshirefhs.org.uk

West Lothian FHS – http://www.wlfhs.org.uk/

 

Official Sites

Passenger Lists – www.ancestorsonboard.com

National Archives – www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

National Archives of Scotland – www.nrsscotland.gov.uk

National Library of Scotland – www.nls.uk

National Records of Scotland – www.nrscotland.gov.uk

The Scottish Archive Network – www.scan.org.uk

Scottish Wills – www.scottishdocuments.com

Manuscript tuition – www.scottishhandwriting.com

Scottish Graveyards – www.scottishgraveyards.org.uk

 

Other resources

Association of Scottish Genealogists – www.asgra.co.uk

Australian Scottish Heritage – www.australianscottishheritage.com

BBC Scottish Roots – www.bbc.co.uk/scotland/history/scottishroots

British Newspaper Archive – www.britishnewspaperarchive.co.uk

Cyndi’s List of Genealogy Sites – www.cyndislist.com

Family BMD – www.familybmd.com

Free BMD – freebmd.rootsweb.com

Free Census – Freecen.rootsweb.com

Genealogy Guide – www.genealogy-guide.org.uk

Genealogical Society of Ireland – www.dun-laoghaire.com/genealogy

Glossary of Scottish Words and Phrases – http://mudcat.org/scots/display_all.cfm

Lineages – www.lineages.co.uk

The Irish FHS – www.ifhs.ie

Irish Genealogy – www.irishgenealogy.ie

Scotland’s Places – www.scotlandsplaces.gov.uk

The long long trail – www.longlongtrail.co.uk

Scottish Gazetteer – www.geo.ed.ac.uk/scotgaz/gaztitle.html

Society of Genealogists – www.sog.org.uk

Public Profiler (Surnames) – www.spatial-literacy.org

 

Skip to toolbar